Africa Smiles


Africa smiled a little when you left.
“We know you,” Africa said, “We have seen and watched you. We can learn to live without you, But we know we needn’t yet.”
And Africa smiled a little when you left.
“You cannot leave Africa,” Africa said. … … … …
“It is always with you,there inside your head. Our rivers run in currents, in the swirl of your thumbprints; Our drumbeats, counting out your pulse; Our coastline, The silhouette of your soul.”
So Africa smiled a little when you left.
“We are in you,” Africa said. “You have not left us, yet.”

I was sent this the other day by a friend I used to go to school with. It really touched me because it is sooo true. Africa will always be alive within me, and I’ll always cherish my roots to Africa, and if anything this picture taken from a Dam in Zimbabwe reminds me so much of my precious home. I am a very lucky person to have spent a while on the magical Lake Kyle.

One comment on “Africa Smiles

  1. Dionne says:

    I saw your quote on Facebook and shared it ~ you need to know how many of us Scaterlings of Zimbabwe this has touched. Thanks you

Come on, tell me what you think. :)

