The Top 5 Television Adverts of 2011


We are all subjected to a barrage of television advertising each year.  If you are anything like me, then there will be methods of advertising that really work on you, and others that very firmly put you off ever using or trying the product being advertised.

Personally I like to be wooed by an advert. If its clever, emotive and well thought out, it meets with high praise from me. If its tacky, cheap and bloody irritating to listen too or watch, there is nothing more certain to make me determined to never go anywhere near the product than a stupid advert.

I tend to think that as people we are sophisticated, and while certain products can get away with a certain level of stupidity or playful hilarity at the expense of their product, it is a fine line to walk and takes a brilliant script writer to get it right. A perfect example of this is the ‘One Sheet does Plenty’ adverts. Far more effective than the old drag adverts, the play on accent makes the poor chap sound like he’s advertising a rather unfortunate accident, and can illicit a smile now and then.

On the other hand, the irritation of the Go Compare adverts does nothing but make me seriously consider assassination and make me ever more determined to never ever make use of the product. I would welcome the makers of the Video Game Assassins Creed to put a character similar to the operatic Richard Smith in their game, and I’m sure they’d find a huge surge of people lining up to pop the character off.

But rant aside, there have been some remarkable adverts this year, and here are a selection of what I think are the top five adverts of the year. I hope you enjoy. If you agree or think that there is one or two that I’ve left out, or deserve closer consideration, be sure to comment and leave a link.

Happy Christmas and may you all have a wonderful New Year.

1. Possibly the cutest advert of all time.

2. Time. A very poignant advert.

3. Boy Band takes to Yoe Valley

4. A total classic Star Wars Theme

5. Possibly the best Airline Advert ever.

There are a few others that were strong contenders, but of all the adverts that I went through, these are defiantly my favourite. What do you think? Which one is the best in your opinion?

Come on, tell me what you think. :)

