My Ideas of a Perfect Novel


I have often dreamed of writing a thrilling crime novel. I have read somewhere that there is a novel in each of us that is just waiting to be penned. I’ve often sat and wondered how you actually get the book out in one long, concurrent and logical masterpiece of written language. Try thinking about the process of creating your characters, writing in a way that leads a reader to develop some sort of kinship with the character, then develop the theme and create a buzz and excitement around the subject that your book focuses on.

Now that sounds like an awful lot of confusing work to me. Damn, you gotta be pretty damn cleaver to bring all that together in one place. I’ve seen pictures of the famous writers that have written multitudes of best sellers, and they all seem to appear to be relatively normal looking people. Nothing special or out of the ordinary in appearance, but I’m sure that if you spent time in their company and got to know them that you’d find they have a massive ability to create an atmosphere around them, bring people into conversation and keep you captivated in conversation as you chatted the night away over a bottle of wine or three!

Some work from simple typewriters, others from multi screen computer centres. Some write about love and relationships, others about war and romance, and then you have my favourite, the crime writers. The imagination that must go into putting together some of the novels I have read is uncanny to think about. I mean, how often have you been reading a book, and been captivated, intrigued and totally fixated on finishing the book to find out who dun it, or what happens, or what the final out come will reveal.

In many ways I kind of think of crime writers as master criminals that instead of actually putting their vast understanding of crime to criminal ways, took to the pen and put their ideas into these gripping pages that we turn in our angst as we struggle to reach the final hurdle in the final chapter. I’m not sure that I’m quite up to that standard of criminal mastermind. I mean let’s consider, if it’s a crime novel that I’m to write, I quite literally have to design the perfect crime. Hmmmm. SO what is a perfect crime? Now there’s a question!

I guess the simple answer to that question is a crime for which you cannot be convicted, or perhaps it’s committing a crime for which you could be convicted but committing it in such a way that you will never be caught or tried for the crime itself. You often see these programs on TV where it ends up that so and so has been killed, and two people caught in the centre of the crime begin to accuse each other to the extent that the evidence cannot produce enough concrete fact to be able to point a finger in one or the other direction.

The issue with that is that in order to get two people pointing the finger at each other, you’d need to include someone in the crime, and lessons in my own life have taught me to trust no one. So in that case, do I really want to commit this perfect crime with an accomplice? Is the perfect crime on carried out that benefits a team of people, or one that is masterminded and pulled off by just one skilled villain? Oceans ten and eleven would have you believe that the ultimate con is to have a multitude of angles that create confusion, subterfuge and enough of a cloud of smoke for everyone involved to walk away from the crime Scott free with the authorities chasing clouds.

Again however, I am not convinced that this is the ideal crime, as when things being to go wrong one of two things happens. Either you are caught up in the guilt of loosing a close friend through their loyalty to you, or you have someone left behind that ties you to the burden of care in having to look out for them due to the loss of your friend, as after all, you’d want to do the honourable thing and step up to the plate and ensure that your friends dependants were well looked after as he’d have expected. So is involving a group of people really the best way to set up the perfect crime?

No in my opinion the ultimate criminal is the master spy. Someone that takes secrets from one power to another to give an advantage to either one power or another. I guess in this instance I am probably thinking of our esteemed James Bond, Mr 007 himself. Mr Cool, smooth and sophisticated, the James Bond legend has grown and enchanted us for many years now. His ability to overcome all sorts of odds, and cheat death in the most remarkable and death defying ways, has appealed to our nature of thrill, adrenaline and excitement. The man has undertaken super hero status in his ability to get the job done no matter what the situation.

So I think my novel would probably focus around some sort of mystery man, someone who you never quite get to know, but someone that you admire and respect. A man who is a knight in shining armour to the damsel in distress, and a thorn in the side to the corrupt mega criminal trying to take over the world in some way or another. Not that this is necessarily a bad criminal, but one who as a vigilante is certainly not part of the established law and order, but one who unlike the spineless criminal justice system actually brings justice to the world in which we live.

He’d be a Stephan Segal type character, multi skilled, and deadly with any type of weapon. A Sylvester Stallone type hard man, capable of taking as much if not more than he gives. A Harrison Ford type adventurer, always living life on the very edge, yet able to adapt to every situation in most remarkable and unlikely way. A guy with Brad Pitt type looks, and the sophisticated elegance of Richard Gere. Goodness, I think I’ve probably created the perfect man, not the perfect crime. AH well, the perfect man can only be perfect in his quest to save the victims of a lawless society by any means, even if it means he walks a line above the law.

Sitting here, telling you all what I’d write about leaves me feeling even more confused about what my novel would really be all about, and even more daunted by the process of writing a master piece of fiction. So let me ask you, if you were going to write a book, what would it be about?

One comment on “My Ideas of a Perfect Novel

  1. Michelle says:

    I wrote a book 18 years ago, redid it 5 years ago… got it published (not as impressive as that sounds – trust me!) two years ago.

    I’ve learnt the hardest part is advertising – I hate it deeply.
    I’ve learnt you really need to trust your self and write from your own truth. Maybe you won’t get published, but at least you’ll still have your integrity. Some things aren’t worth compromising.

    I’m not sure if I have a “hero” in my story. I have three main characters. The one I would probably pick as being the hero (for me) is grumpy, irritable, fragile, strong, impatient, but always true to himself and his moral centre. I like him… heck I married a man just like him! LOL

    GOOD LUCK with the writing. I’m trying to get a book 2 written, but between blogs, people, poetry, life and a million things I’m getting nowhere.

Come on, tell me what you think. :)

