Denmark has the X Factor


It’s no small secret that I’m a massive fan of the X Factor here in the UK, and I have to say, over the last couple of years I’ve become a huge fan of Simon Cowell and the rage that is the X Factor phenomenon. So I guess in some ways its little surprise that a friend found some great clips of the 2010 X factor competition that has already taken place in Denmark.

With absolutely no disrespect to Denmark, I’ve never really paid much attention to music out of the Scandinavian region, and didn’t even consider that they’d have an X Factor, but I am mildly surprised at the talent that I discovered, and stand totally corrected. Not only did I discover that the Danes can sing, one of the guys that made it right through to the Live Finals did so singing in a category that I class as my favourite genre of music.

Brit Indie Pop is now more widely regarded as Indie music per se and has possibly one of the widest followings in the younger generation of today’s trend setters. With the likes of Snow Patrol, The Killers, Keane, Feeder to name but a few, Indie music has a unique place in any live music fan’s heart. The joy of Indie music is that its better live, and has a dynamic catchiness that not many other groupings of music beats can boast.

Having admitted that it is my favourite core genre of music, I have to admit that I am particularly fussy about anyone who’d dare to copy or cover any proper indie song. Unfortunately a world of dodgy karaoke clubs, and Monday open mic nights, have lead me to have a intense dislike for an average voice torturing a perfectly great piece of music. So when I hear the beat of a classic song start in an X Factor audition, my face falls much the same as the panel of judges as I fear what is coming.

It was welcome relief then to find that Jesper Boesgaard a 16 year old fresh faced, young guy takes on the challenge of impressing me. Haha, check me out thinking like a judge! LOL. But quite simply it’s a pleasure to find someone who actually manages to make you stop and think, “whoa hang on, this guy is quite good!” Though he may look a little camp, (skinny jeans always makes a guy look camp!) the boy has a fantastic voice on him, and taking on a number of my all time favourite songs, by groups I adore, I have to say, Jesper won me over as one to watch in years to come.

So as he takes on the greats like Coldplay, U2, Muse and my current favourite all time song, Firefly by Owl City, sit back, smile and enjoy.

Come on, tell me what you think. :)

