Donor Meeting


I’m on my way to Cardiff this morning to see what if anything is available in terms of funding for a new project for the Zimbabwean community in Wales initially and then nationwide ultimately. It’s funny, that while I have been talking to many people to gather information about this project that some would seek to discourage my efforts while others have been so supportive. It always amazes me how different Zimbabweans can be. Some will go out of their way to help on any level, others will use words to try and put you down.

I had a long chat the other night with a friend that I trust implicitly and whom has shared many ups and downs with me along the road. I expressed my concern about it to her, and she told me something that has stuck in my head ever since. It matters not what other people opinion is of me, it only matters that we strive to help our people. And it struck accord with me. It is so easy to find fault and draw conclusions. Daily I am prompted to re-examine my assumptions and chide myself when I discover I’ve been so wrong in judging people. If I do it myself, how can I expect no one to judge me. Rather than worry about their assumption it is more critical to carry on and when you achieve your goals then allow them to judge you on the merit of your achievements.

So even though I am nervous about today’s presentation, and how it will be met by the donor community, I have committed myself to at least get their opinion and treat it as a learning curve in my fight to work for Zimbabwean people.

2 comments on “Donor Meeting

  1. Tina says:

    Good luck Rob your passion and determination says it all.Zimbabwe will be free…

    • Rob says:

      Zimbabwe deserves some effort I think, and if I can help only one to have a better life then I’ve achieved something more than most. I’ll always keep my head up and aim to rise above. Thanks for the support. 🙂

Come on, tell me what you think. :)

